We use cookies to offer the best possible user experience on our website. We also use third-party cookies, to deliver personalised advertisement messages. By using our website you agree, that cookies can be saved on your device. Further information on the cookies used and on how to disable them can be found here.

Meran or Merano

Meran (in Italian Merano, in Latin Meranum, in the Middle Ages an der Meran) is the second largest town in South Tyrol after Bolzano, the State capital.
For centuries Merano was the State Capital of Tyrol. It lies in the centre of a basin, surrounded by mountains (1500 - 3335 m), at the entrance to the valleys of Val Passiria, Val Venosta and Val d'Adige and was already famous as a spa resort in the 19th century. Merano was divided into the districts of Quarazze, Maia Alta, Maia di Sotto (south of the River Passirio), Labers, Sinigo and the actual town of Merano (often referred to as the Old Town). An administrative sub-division into hamlets, as in Bolzano, does not exist.
back to list